chocolate crunch bar cake donuts


..or, a beautiful accident, like a

gasoline rainbow..

I thought  I had everything together;

a new jar of coconut oil,

flour fresh out of the grinder,

and a crazy delicious looking recipe I wanted to try:

..The accident? I was out of flax seeds!

Gluten Free Vegan Baked Chocolate Cake Donuts via pure2raw

  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 5 tbsp flax meal
  • 5 tbsp cocoa
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup xylitol (or sugar) *part Stevia in the Raw, part xylitol
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup  coconut kefir (or buttermilk) *almond milk & vinegar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla (alcohol free, so adjust accordingly)

Mix everything together,  pipe or pour into donut pan, bake about 14 minutes at 375 or until a toothpick comes out clean.

I don’t have a standard donut pan but I found these antique ones in my grandma’s kitchen & love ’em! You could also bake these in a mini muffin tin for donut holes.

So, what makes these chocolate crunch bar donuts?

Along with switching out half the brown rice flour for buckwheat,

I used 4 tbsp chia seeds in place of the ground flax, resulting in a donut reminiscent of a nestle crunch bar, with all the health benefits* of chia seeds 🙂

*One ounce has almost half the recommended daily intake(RDI) of fiber, 42%; as much Omega-6 in a single ounce as almost 1,000 ounces of salmon, as well as being rich in calcium(18%RDI), phosphorous(27%RDI) zinc(7%RDI) & magnesium(30%RDI.) source

Chia seeds make a great egg substitute and add tons of volume to oatmeal, green smoothies and ice cream since they can soak up so much liquid. Anytime I make cookies or homemade bars I throw some in, like in these Homemade Cherry Larabar Bites.

I’m counting down the days til sweet, fresh summer berries are ripe so I can make strawberry lemonade, raspberry lime & Strawberry Chia Jam ,

Until then, how awesome is this indoor chia garden??

 

Have you tried chia seeds? I hated them at first, having only tried them in a “pudding” with almond milk & cocoa.. Definitely a different story now though; I love ’em sprinkled on cereal and blended into smoothies.

what do you think?

