s’mores molten chocolate lava cookies (secretly gluten free)


gluten free molten chocolate lava cookies with a s’mores lover’s twist!

I made a half batch of these  molten chocolate lava cookies,

(recipe via kris @ iheartwellness.com)

stuck a marshmallow in with the chocolate chips and rolled then in graham cracker crumbs..

soo good :)

Molten Chocolate Lava Cookies (halved recipe)

3/4 cup brown rice flour (or flour of choice)
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp sea salt
1/2 mashed banana
1/4 cup medjool dates (or soaked dried dates)
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 c +2T cups nondairy milk
1 dark chocolate bar/ about 1/4c chocolate chips

1T agave (as per the original recipe, my batter was pretty wet already so I used stevia)

+ mini marshmallows & gluten free graham crackers if desired!

How-to:

Preheat oven to 350

Sift all dry ingredients together. Blend all wet ingredients together, then combine wet & dry.

Place 1/2 ” thick cookie balls on a parchment or silpat lined cookie sheet.

Roll in graham crackers if desired & add a piece of chocolate or a few chocolate chips.

Bake about 10m. (I took mine out at 10 & they were still really wet inside; another 5 minutes and they were perfect!

Definitely check out the original recipe, and all the other killer recipes @ iheartwellness

There’s a ton of granola bars(all vegan) that look awesome,

and I’m definitely trying these quinoa chocolate truffles with some extra millet I have kicking around!

Speaking of blogs with kick-ass recipes,

Averie @ loveveggiesandyoga

is giving away a top notch Kitchenaid here

& accepting entries until Apr 19th. Good luck!

6 thoughts on “s’mores molten chocolate lava cookies (secretly gluten free)

  1. Christina~
    I absolutely cannot wait to try these. Gluten has been aggravating my tummy more and more… and don’t bananas make awesome brownies!?! I’ll use them even if I have eggs :)
    Luvya Cuz~
    ~Brandi

  2. Hey B! I’ve been lovin’ bananas lately! For me it’s too much sugar that screws with my stomach &makes my face breakout like crazy :( I know how you feel

    If you want something reeeealllyy good, before you try these, make the s’mores bars a couple posts back; spelt is a gluten flour but brown rice flour should work fine in it’s place.. these cookies were good, but the s’mores bars were literally perfect. Wish I had one right now!

    Have you tried buckwheat flour? The little Indian store Cosmos around the corner from the house on Walkley has whole groats pretty cheap that you can grind in a blender/coffee grinder, has this great nutty taste & I’ve been using it everywhere.

    Great to hear from you! Let me know how they come out if you make either recipe :)

what do you think?

